Nebraska Center for Writers

redball.gif Bibliography
redball.gif Selection
redball.gif Commentary
redball.gif Buy a Book
redball.gif Writers On-Line
Poet NANCY WESTERFIELD has lived in Nebraska since 1965. During lulls in her work day as a librarian, she developed the habit of reading literary magazines, part of her education as a poet. In 1975, she won the distinction of being Nebraska's first NEA Fellow, in poetry (1975). Her published works — some 800 poems, fiction, journalism, and drama — have appeared in the United States, Canada, and abroad. A collection, Welded Women, was published by Kearney State College Press in 1983. She has won four Borestone Mountain awards, the Stephen Vincent Benét Award (1971), in addition to two resident fellowships at Yaddo (1979 & 1981), two National Catholic Poetry Prizes, most recently in 1991. She has written articles in Commonweal, Christian Century, and other periodicals. (Biographical material courtesy of Black Star Press).

The Rock

Nebraska Center for Writers