Nebraska Center for Writers

redball.gif Bibliography
redball.gif Selection
redball.gif Commentary
redball.gif Another Web Site
redball.gif Buy a Book
redball.gif Writers On-Line
WALT MCDONALD (PhD, Iowa) was an Air Force pilot, taught at the Air Force Academy, and served as Texas Poet Laureate in 2001. He retired in 2002 as Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of English and Poet in Residence at Texas Tech University. Native Texans, Walt and Carol have three children and seven grandchildren. Walt has twenty collections of poems and a book of fiction, including Climbing the Divide (U of Notre Dame Press, 2003), Great Lonely Places of the Texas Plains (Texas Tech University Press, October 2003 — Walt's poems paired with color photos by Texas State Photographer Wyman Meinzer), All Occasions (Notre Dame), Blessings the Body Gave (Ohio State), Counting Survivors (Pittsburgh), Night Landings (Harper & Row), and After the Noise of Saigon (Massachusetts). He has published more than 2,300 poems in journals and collections, including American Poetry Review, The American Scholar, The Atlantic Monthly, The Cresset, First Things, JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, The Georgia Review, London Review of Books, The Nation, New York Review of Books, The Paris Review, Poetry, Prairie Schooner, The Sewanee Review, The Southern Review, and TriQuarterly. He has received six awards from the Texas Institute of Letters, including the Lon Tinkle Memorial Award for Excellence Sustained Throughout a Career. Four books won the Western Heritage Award from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame, including Whatever the Wind Delivers: Celebrating West Texas and the Near Southwest (Texas Tech University Press, 1999) — Walt's poems, archival photos selected by Janet Neugebauer, and a Foreword by Laura Bush, when she was First Lady of Texas. Other awards include Texas Tech's Distinguished Alumnus Award; two NEA Fellowships; and 1992 Texas Professor of the Year (awarded by CASE, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education).

The Rock

Nebraska Center for Writers